The Herring of the Year 2015

The annual herring jury chose the winners on Sunday 4th October at 3pm

Fisherman Leif Bergman from Åland won the best classic herring contest. Second was Tage Gustafsson from Hanko with his herring of muscot flower and third Pirjo Haapajärvi also from Hanko.

In the herring surprise serie the winner is Pirjo and Reima Salonen from Taivassalo with their dill herring without preservatives. Second is Juha Välisalo from Merikarvia with his pricled herring and third Tage Gustafssons herring a la Linda seasoned with chive, onion, rose pepper and pink.

Warmest congratulations for all of the winners! And thank you for being a part of the competition for each of the participants. This year there was a total of 12 products in the classic series and 23 in the surprise series.

The traditional Herring Jury convened among the Sunday brunch crowds by the Havis Amanda. Also the visitors got to taste the products. The jury was composed of beer and food journalist Mariaana Nelimarkka, Helsinki’s cultural director Stuba Nikula, editor-in-chief of the food magazine Glorian Ruoka & Viini Sanna Maskulin, nature ambassador and author Pirkko Saisio, as well as top chef Pekka Terävä. The brunch table was set in collaboration with Lapuan Kankurit, Mat Catering, and ceramics artist Leena Kouhia. The opening ceremonies and brunch were hosted by Meri-Tuuli Lindström.